Aboa Vetus and Ars Nova

aboa_vetus_ars_nova

aboa_vetus_ars_nova

One of the most interesting museums I’ve ever visited is in Turku. I’ve just read  read Sinikka’s profile in the participant list,  and I’ve immediately “connected” her town Turku, with my previous factual knowledge and I remembered the museum.

I refer to Aboa Vetus and Ars Nova. In the same building there is a medieval part, underground, and, on top of it, a modern art museum. 3 years ago I enjoyed the visit very much.

Now, reflecting on the course, it’s curious: that Museum could be the metaphor of  my personal and professional status!

I suppose all teachers of my age  are in the midst of a “paradigm shift”. We experienced some solid (for us) ways of building knowledge (like medieval walls). Now we are facing new ways of managing our sources of knowledge, some of which may seem unfamiliar, just like some pieces of contemporary art!

One response to “Aboa Vetus and Ars Nova

  1. Wow Laura, you have actually visited a museum in my town! Isn’t it a small world after all?? I like your metaphor about shifting outside medieval walls into something like contemporary art very much. This reminds me that I should go and see the latest pieces of art at Aboa vetus and Ars Nova one weekend. BTW, theirs is one of my favourite cafeterias in town where I often go and have a chat with a few colleagues after school 🙂

Leave a Reply

