CCK08 – The diapason, the iceberg and the learner

diapason
diapason – by Wollschaf – Wikimedia

 

Some contents of this course keep resonating like a musical note in my skull, even after some time I’ve read about them.

With this acoustic analogy in mind, I’ll reflect on fragments taken from the “Daily”, from some readings and from other bloggers’ posts.

I felt encouraged by what Siemens wrote some Dailies ago:

In a networked model of learning, how does the learning actually occur? … it occurs as we struggle to make sense of our world. As we filter information. As we create content and engage with others. Traditionally, education has provided much of the filtering work for us through the bounded information structures provided by instructors/faculty. What happens when that is under our control too? (colours are mine)

 

Processes (like making sense, filtering, creating and engaging with others by reading/writing) require time and time management is one of the obstacles of adult “online” learning. (I started reading a handbook on time management and I’m still at page 25 because I haven’t learnt how to find time to finish it, yet! :-))

I’m aware that I need time to explore my learning processes and I’ve accepted the mini-frustrations of feeling a little behind with the assignments (no posts on week-3 topic!).

I read the post by Claire on dropping out and it led me to another reflection: the iceberg metaphor.

 

photo by  Ludovic Hirlimann

photo by ludovic hirlimann

I think that we (teachers) feel frustrated and on the verge of dropping out because we are focusing on the “top” of the iceberg: in traditional learning this means what we (or our students) “produce“.

In our course on connectivism a sense of discomfort assails us if we don’t write posts or comments or  draw C- maps.  But I felt relieved yesterday when I remembered an idea expressed by John Dewey: that of collateral learning, (a sort of  hidden curriculum,  what cannot be seen). with regard to the formation of enduring attitudes.  We should focus more on the network of our relations and feel less worried by the “productivity” issue.

 As Downes underlines:

…knowledge is distributed across networks (of people, increasingly aided by technology) and that learning is the act and process of forming and navigating networks. 

This reconnects my thoughts with what Sinikka expressed (in her enviable English)   about students’ productivity  in online activities, when she tried to create a network for her intercultural projects.  She was frustrated by the reactions of her students and I felt the same once when I used Moodle with a class. 

I think we should consider the collateral learning of using  socialnetworking tools at school, and after this course we will be aware of other aspects. So…let’s look under the surface!

 

2 responses to “CCK08 – The diapason, the iceberg and the learner

  1. Hi Haaqs,
    I really like your iceberg analogy and the idea of collateral learning. There is so much we are learning just by being in the course, and for many of us there is a lot of technological infrastructure that we have to set up. Participating in this course has allowed me to have a better appreciation for how overwhelming it can be for many of my students (grades 8 to 11) when they start at the distributed learning school where I work.

  2. I totally agree with your comments. Having been caught up in university study for many years the drive to produce is almost overwhelming. I work in an organisation which is obsessed with outcomes, we live in a materialistic society. I am judged by what I produce! I have just done some great reading on informal learning in which I actually tried to map the implicit learning that was happening as Icompleted a formal task for assessment. For me this equated so well with your iceberg analogy. My implicit learning was so rich, engrossing and consuming – far more meaningful in helping me make sense of the ‘above iceberg’ territory. By necessity this great course is very fast and I am really struggling to gather,synthesis, evaluate and integrate … For me I am using the multiple metaphor framework in which some times I am busy in the acquiring metaphor zone, gathering info, reading etc and other times i am in the participating metaphor zone – Thanks for your post it really helped me to think and try and integrate some stuff.

Leave a Reply

